A bit about me and my fish

I thought a good place to start this thing would be to write a little bit about me and my fish keeping. I live near London in the UK, and have been keeping fish myself for about 14 years, with the usual family goldfish before that.

Over the years I have kept most of the usual community freshwater tropical/coldwater fish and experienced most of the usual problems along the way (algae outbreak, white spot, aggressive tank mates etc…). As well as the usual community fish I also kept Rift Lake cichlids (Tanganyikans) for 8 years – I’m sure a post on Tanganyikan cichlids will follow at some point!

Alongside my fish I have also had two African clawed frogs for around the last 4 years after I adopted them from a family member who mistook them for African dwarf frogs- again I’m sure a post will follow.

To wrap up this first post I thought I’d give an overview of the fish I currently have across my various aquaria and pond – nothing too remarkable at the moment but that doesn’t make them any less of a pleasure to keep and watch:

  • Angelfish (wild type)
  • Boeseman’s Rainbowfish
  • Praecox Rainbowfish (Dwarf Neon Rainbowfish)
  • Celebes Rainbowfish
  • Synodontis Eupterus (Featherfin synodontis)
  • Synodontis Multipunctatus (possible misidentification)
  • Neon tetra
  • Cardinal tetra
  • Rosy tetra
  • Rummy nose tetra
  • Peppered corydoras
  • Platy
  • Swordtail
  • Zebra Loach
  • Bulldog plec
  • Flash plec (was mis-sold as a tiger peckoltia)
  • Marbled hatchetfish
  • Glass catfish
  • Neolamprologus Brichardi
  • Indian pygmy puffer
  • Red cherry shrimp
  • Assassin snails
  • Goldfish (comet, shubunkin, fantail)
  • Koi carp
  • Ghost koi
  • Golden orfe
  • Golden tench

I think that’s just about covered them all, any questions about keeping any of the above feel free to ask and I’ll do my best to give you an answer. Eventually I hope to cover most of them in their own blog post.

Thanks for reading,

Elb

 

Leave a Reply

